AEM/CQ5 AuthenticationSupport service missing

My computer crashed and on restart my local instance was not working property (blank pages). Looking at the error.log there was

org.apache.sling.engine.impl.SlingHttpContext handleSecurity: AuthenticationSupport service missing. Cannot authenticate request.

After a quick look at the felix console and having seen all the bundles up and running I went to reading backwards the error.log. I saw that during the start-up Lucene was failing to start and therefore the repository was not initialized correctly.

I managed to have my local instace back to work by having CQ fully regenerate my Lucene indexes.

See How to check and repair search index inconsistencies (Completely rebuild the index)

4 thoughts on “AEM/CQ5 AuthenticationSupport service missing

  1. Siva says:

    I am facing the same issue. Could you elaborate on how to fix it.

    I managed to have my local instace back to work by having CQ fully regenerate my Lucene indexes.?

    • Mrinal says:

      1. Stop your instance.
      2.go to > crx-quickstart\repository\index and delete index folder.
      3.Resart the instance (This will regenerate Lucene indexes fully)

Leave a Reply

