WiFi disconnect while sleeping on Mavericks

Was just provided of a new laptop with Mac OS X Mavericks on it. Other than I think it’s a very bad product and made me seriously think about moving back to windows, I tried at all costs to solve the main issue I had: if the laptop goes to sleep the WiFi disconnects.

I can understand that for the majority of users this can be awesome but I simply hate it. I can have long-running process that want to have it running for the whole night.

Searched around the web here and there and tried many things. Reached the point where I think it’s not possible to disable this feature, therefore I went in disabling the Sleep completely. This made the trick in my situation.

Issue the following command on terminal:

$ sudo pmset -a sleep 0

Here’s my complete pmset settings:

$ pmset -g
Active Profiles:
Battery Power        -1*
AC Power        -1
Currently in use:
 standbydelay         10800
 standby              1
 halfdim              1
 hibernatefile        /var/vm/sleepimage
 darkwakes            0
 gpuswitch            2
 disksleep            0
 sleep                0
 autopoweroffdelay    14400
 hibernatemode        3
 autopoweroff         1
 ttyskeepawake        1
 displaysleep         2
 acwake               0
 lidwake              1

References:

3 thoughts on “WiFi disconnect while sleeping on Mavericks

  1. Sam says:

    There’s another solution. It seems that the issue is related to the automatic network location feature in Mavericks. This post on the support page worked for me:

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/5537854

    The solution was to create a new network location, reorder the priority of network services, and disable the ones that are unnecessary.

    • Sam says:

      Oops. After re-reading your exact problem, I realize this isn’t a fix. My issue was that it took an extended period of time for the wifi to reconnect. This allowed my wifi to reconnect immediately, but it certainly does not keep it on while in sleep mode.

Leave a Reply

